How lucky are you?

Sometimes I stop to consider how lucky I am.  Naturally, there are days when I feel to be the unluckiest person alive, but there are times when I think I am blessed.  I enjoy those days the most.

I feel lucky right now.  If you’ve been following my posts, you’ll know my dog, Bella, has cancer – a lymphoma.  She’s had one hell of a fight.  Not only with the cancer, which is one of the most aggressive as far as lymphomas go, but after having a very rare and life-threatening reaction to the chemotherapy.

She came through it, and so we decided to try again with the treatment.  If we didn’t, more than likely, her cancer would return and she would die within weeks.

My heart was pounding and clarity in my head replaced with fuzz, as I waited for Bella to return home from a 40-minute chemo session.  After the last treatment, she had to be hopitalised and didn’t eat voluntarily for a week, so I had every right to be worried.

So how would she cope?  Would we lose her this time?

Hell no.  The first thing Bella wanted to do, when she rushed into the house, was eat.  Yes eat!  And she did exactly that.

No side effects, whatsoever!

So I feel pretty lucky.

Maybe next time I’ll write about a one-eyed cat I once found.  His name was Tingle, he was feral, and he lived under the floorboards.

About Honor A Dawson

I live in a rural location with my husband, dogs, cats and chickens. I love reading and writing, watching and playing tennis, and wildlife and nature.

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Dog Lymphoma and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great news again! Hope she carries on doing so well…

Leave a Reply

