My Writing Experience

Writing can be exhilarating and totally absorbing. It also can be scary, depressing and lonely. It is not necessarily a career choice, since only the very few can make a living out of it, but it is a life choice.  I wouldn’t be without it. It is my passion, my dream.

I have been told that on the days I don’t write I have a tendency to be gloomy and tetchy. So for me writing is something I need to do, and I know I am totally obsessed. It is not a 5 day a week job; I write everyday, weekdays and weekends alike, and have to peel myself away from my computer to do other things.  Thankfully, I have an understanding husband.

On a productive day, I can write over 3000 words. On those days, my eyes are square and my arms ache, but it’s worth it. There is nothing quite like getting inside a characters head. They become real people with their own stories. At the end of the book, I feel like I have lost a good friend.

So what about the downside? Definitely, the marketing.  I prefer to be writing, but since I have made the decision to become a self-published author, there is no way around it, and it is a draining experience. There is always much to do, another tweet or another marketing stream to investigate. Without putting in the effort, my books will not be found. It’s like opening a shop in the middle of a desert. Only the people you tell know about you, and they are not necessarily potential customers. Right now, I am laying the first bricks. Soon, I hope there will be a motorway.

Honor

About Honor A Dawson

I live in a rural location with my husband, dogs, cats and chickens. I love reading and writing, watching and playing tennis, and wildlife and nature.

Posted on September 6, 2013, in writing/reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

