Help! I’m struggling to find reading pleasurable.

Since I started writing novels, I have been struggling to find reading pleasurable and have been wondering if this is a common problem. So often, on tv and suchlike, I hear other writers singing the praises of other authors. Are they making truthful comments, or are they just being polite?

Do they, like me, find it difficult being entertained?

I used to be an avid reader, and have read a variety of fiction, from family sagas to science fiction. Now I struggle to get beyond the first few chapters. If I do I am hyper-analytical, critical even. It’s not necessarily because I find the work poor, but it can be because I am too busy making comparisons to my own abilities. The good and the bad.

Help! I can’t switch off from work-mode.

I examine the grammar, the structure of the novel, and the plot. I study the characters and I wonder if I feel sympathy towards them in the way the author would have wanted. I wonder if I would do things differently.

Surely, I can’t be alone.

Perhaps I am a little obsessive, but without such a character trait I would have never gotten to the place I am now.

So maybe it is a small price to pay.

About Honor A Dawson

I live in a rural location with my husband, dogs, cats and chickens. I love reading and writing, watching and playing tennis, and wildlife and nature.

Posted on September 19, 2013, in writing/reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

