Forcing yourself to be happy

It’s such a pity that we can appreciate things more when they are gone or about to leave us. Whether it is a loved one, our health, our even our youth and vitality, we suddenly realise, at that critical point, how much it means. Like everybody, I have been in that situation many times. Sometimes, though, we are lucky enough to enjoy the remaining time before whatever it is falls over the precipice; sometimes, we may even be able to change the course of history.

At critical moments in my life when I have been suffering at my most, I have had a policy of trying to enjoy each day and stay upbeat. I do this for selfish reasons, because I hate feeling miserable. It also has massive health benefits. Stress is the of the key factors of many illnesses, as I indicated in my earlier blog, ‘Fighting Rheumatoid Arthritis with the Mind’.

So how do you stay positive?

1)      Distract yourself from your problems.

2)      Learn to enjoy the moment. Don’t dwell on what could be. It may never happen. If it does, have confidence that you can deal with it.

3)      Don’t think everyone else’s life is better. It’s probably not. We all have a habit of exaggerating our situations and achieve this in different ways. For example, you wealthy friend may be up to his eyeballs in debt; alternatively, they may have a poor marriage or lack of friends.

4)      Don’t be jealous of what someone else has. Strive to make your own life better, and if you can’t, then accept it.

5)      Force a happy demeanour. Smile, compliment, and think happy thoughts. You’ll get more back in return.

6)      Remind yourself of what’s good in your life. Your children? Your partner? Your heath? There must be something.

Forcing a happy mood is not easy. When my dog had terminal cancer, I forced happiness on myself, and with hindsight, it was one of the best times I had had with any of my dogs. Every day, I enjoyed the fact she was still alive. Surely, that in itself was something to cheer about.

Life is a gift and time passes in a flash. Don’t allow negativity into your life. Fight for the positive.

Oh, and having the ‘happy gene’ may help.

About Honor A Dawson

I live in a rural location with my husband, dogs, cats and chickens. I love reading and writing, watching and playing tennis, and wildlife and nature.

Posted on October 10, 2013, in Psychology, Rheumatoid Arthritis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “Fight for the positive”–I really like that.
    I definitely exaggerate my situations, and I know a lot of people around me who do as well. It’s just our way of imagining that someone HAS to have it better so we CAN feel that jealousy and rivalry.

Leave a Reply

