Maintaining a healthy PH balance

When I first developed rheumatoid arthritis, I soon learned that diet was something I had to consider changing as it influences inflammation levels. Initially, it was difficult trying to determine what foods were making my condition worse, as the information that was out there varied a huge amount. However, after keeping notes of exactly what foods I ate and matching it to my inflammation levels, I discovered dairy produce, particularly cheese, was my enemy.

Eating one of my favourite foods just wasn’t worth the screaming pain I developed in my shoulders within hours. Cheese had to go, or more importantly, I had to find a way I could eat it without being affected.

I came upon an article discussing the acid-alkaline balance within the body. Apparently, we are meant to eat an 80-20 alkaline-acid proportion in the diet, to stay problem free. Foods can either be acid or alkaline, or they can be acid or alkaline-forming, meaning once they have been processed, the residue is either acid or alkaline. If we don’t eat foods in the correct ratio, we suffer from over-acidity.

Many diseases and allergic reactions have this association, but those conditions with symptoms of pain and weakness are affected the worse. Over-acidity equals inflammation. Therefore, for rheumatoid arthritis sufferers, a high alkaline diet is essential.

What makes such a diet?

1) Fruits are mainly alkaline, so long as they are not canned, dried, glazed. Cranberries, plums and prunes, are the exception, and they are slightly acidic.

2) Most vegetables are alkaline, with the exception of dried beans, brussel sprouts, and lentils.

3) Raw milk (not boiled, cooked, pasteurised, etc), whey and yoghurt are alkaline, but butter, cheese, cream and custards are acidic.

4) Meat and fish are acidic.

5) All cereals are acid, with millet and rye been the least acid forming grain.

6) Teas are alkaline. Alcohol, coffee, sugars, vinegar, condiments and spices, and dressings and thick sauces are acidic.

If you maintain a primarily alkaline diet, you may be able to eat more of the acid foods without being affected. It worked for me.

I’d say, it’s worth a try. The benefits are huge.

About Honor A Dawson

I live in a rural location with my husband, dogs, cats and chickens. I love reading and writing, watching and playing tennis, and wildlife and nature.

Posted on October 28, 2013, in Rheumatoid Arthritis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

