The plum tree designed by wasps, for wasps

plums

I have a gripe with plum trees.

I have two trees, a Victoria and a Cambridge Gage, and I must say this year has been the best I’ve ever had. There are no grubs inside, which was a problem last year affecting the majority of fruit, the Victoria’s are as large as a hens eggs and deliciously sweet, and the Cambridge Gage tree is so bountiful the branches are bending over and touching the ground.

So what’s the problem? The problem is that the plums drop from the tree over two weeks and they don’t store. On top of that, I’ve been eating so many that I have developed permanent stomach ache! (No problems with constipation relating to my painful coccyx then!!!)

I hate the waste. I don’t eat jam, I’m not a big fan of chutney, and all of my friends have trees of their own. Maybe I could make plum sauce, but I am hopeless in the kitchen! So the only choice I have is to freeze them. They are suppose to freeze okay, even whole, but since it’s a new experience, I’m not entirely certain they won’t go to mush.

Having taken a very small percentage, and having given some to the very excited chickens, the rest have fallen to the ground for the wasps, a few honey bees, and the butterflies. The wasps, in particular are in heaven, and don’t even react when I accidentally pick one up in plum. At least they’re happy. Perhaps the tree is not such a poor design after all.

 

 

 

About Honor A Dawson

I live in a rural location with my husband, dogs, cats and chickens. I love reading and writing, watching and playing tennis, and wildlife and nature.

Posted on August 19, 2014, in garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love those plums. If I lived next door I’d make preserves for you.

    • A pleasure for my remarks to be noteworthy! We enjoy our isolated lifestyle it helps us to get our writing done without interruption by annoying neighbours and cold calling salesmen. On my long todo list I intend to transfer this material to a combined blog, so people will appreciate where some of my storylines stem from.
      We have many types of wildlife I despite the destructive chemicals farmers insist on spraying! We have made our small holding a natural haven with a good diversity to suit the locality. It is an inspiration for all my stories. So I will include further material on this when I am able. I am busy doing the 6th edit on my 23rd novel and now I am returning to redo my 7th novel which is due for publishing. #LLAP

Leave a Reply

